Español | Deutsch


República del Ecuador

Botschaft von Ecuador in Deutschland

| Home | Botschaft | Konsularabteilung | WirtschaftsabteilungKulturabteilung | Aktuelles | Ecuador | Kontakt | Links |



Ecuador is a multiethnic and multicultural nation. It has a population of more than 12.6 million. Of these, five and a half million live in the highlands. Six and a half million of Ecuador´s inhabitants live on the Pacific coast. The Amazon region is home to more than six hundred thousand inhabitants and nearly seventeen thousand live in the Galapagos Islands. More than 14 indigenous groups live on the Ecuadorian mainland, maintaining their own traditions and their own worldview. flecha  more...

Straddling the equator in western South America, Ecuador has territories in both the Northern and the Southern hemispheres. It borders Colombia to the north and shares a border with Peru to the south and to the east. The Pacific Ocean is Ecuador’s western border. Ecuador is geographically divided into four regions (the Amazon, the Highlands, the Coast, and the Galapagos Islands) and is politically split into 22 provinces, which, in turn, are split into 205 cantons. flecha  more...


The first phase Ecuador's history began somewhere between 15,000 and 20,000 BC with the rise of indigenous societies in what is now Ecuador. These peoples had developed social organizations with their own beliefs, rites, and ceremonies and an economy based primarily on hunting, gathering, and agriculture. flecha more...





Photo Gallery
Ecuador and the four worlds

     flecha Filming in Ecuador

Botschaft von Ecuador in Deutschland · Joachimstaler Str. 12 · 10719 Berlin · ALLIANZ-Gebäude, 10. Stock
Tel.: 0049 (0) 30-800 96 95 · Fax: 0049 (0) 30-800 96 96 99 · E-Mail: · Internet: